a rare audible pleasure,for RA’s supporters.

Vulpes Libris

Heyer 1My younger daughter, aged 18 and a half, has just fallen headlong into Georgette Heyer, and is spending her summer browsing my collection. Occasionally she reports back to me, in passing on the stairs or by Skype messaging if I’m not on the spot precisely when she wants to Tell Me What She Thinks. (For example, she hates the emotional abuse in Bath Tangle, but loves Freddy in Cotillion.) She’s using this really excellent online guide to the plots from Tor, an emporium of science and fantasy reading and games. Heyer is absolutely a fantasy novelist, so I can see the connection, even if she’s writing about landaulets rather than elvish lore.

The author of the Tor synopses, Mari Ness, writes with a deep knowledge of the plots, Heyer’s life trajectory, and the historical and literary contexts. She’s also a damn good writer herself, so this is a…

View original post 32 more words

